By thinking over how to create order, pattern and structure from natural chaos in order to communicate the approach of the chaos theory to the mind-world interrelationship, I thought about working kaleidoscopic pattern into the work I’ve been doing. This led me to take simple photographs of some of the pieces that were up in the studio at that time, using a kaleidoscope lens, exemplified below. I am happy with this particular avenue to pattern because of it’s circular/spherical nature, which coincides with my tendency to work within circular shapes but also with the circular and spiral shapes I’ve been finding in my imagery, for example the mark makings of the sound of the sea.

I am particularly responsive to the kaleidoscopic photograph of the sea collaborations themselves because the defined lines suggest the symmetry and recurrence quite sharply and dynamic for the eye. I find them quite theatrical also because of the ironic chaos which brings movement to the markings for me.

IMG_6819.JPG

IMG_6816.JPG

IMG_6817.JPG

IMG_6820.JPG

IMG_6823.JPG

IMG_6827.JPG

IMG_6825.JPG

IMG_6824.JPG

IMG_6833.JPG

IMG_6829.JPG

IMG_6834.JPG

IMG_6830.JPG

IMG_6835.JPG

IMG_6836.JPG

IMG_6852.JPG

Leave a Reply

