Drawing with fire

IMG_6687.JPG

I decided to experiment with ways of allowing nature to be a source of mark making: for a natural element to leave the visual. I have represented this idea by simply moving a flame around a piece of cartridge paper and the smoke forms shapes and sits on the paper as ash. I enjoy the outcomes because they have such subtle and poetic character and I feel they illustrate a delicate beauty and play virtue to the way I feel about the rawness and humility of nature. I’m going to continue searching for other processes that offer the same connection and I will return to this simple process in some aspect of some more finalized artwork.

IMG_6686.JPG

Leave a Reply

