Tim Knowles inspo

David Fitzjohn showed me artist Tim Knowles creating drawings through the actual movement of the branches of a tree modeled with this video footage. I love the primary use of nature for the end results which I find are chaotic yet delicate.

lamson_2 Tim_K_151205_001.tif TimKnowles_2 Print

I particularly love the outcome of the final image here, appearing to be posing as the branches of the tree themselves, self-portrait like. I definitely want to incorporate this method because I think being the assistant for nature itself performing the creative process is sublime for my currents ideas involving chaos theory and my own view on natures structure. This method of working also incorporates how I feel about the strong involvement of nature from Andy Goldsworthy’s work.

I’m going to test this method and I wish to attempt it with non-waterproof pens when rainging to allow the weather to play a part more so.

Leave a Reply

