Mark Bradford

I’ve taken in board the way Mark Bradford trances his collage material, which allows it to be seen in a much more abstract way. After my visit to the Hanna Hoch exhibition in London I realised that I would like to test out producing more abstract collage and I think this has pushed me in that direction. Instead of Bradford’s typical square cut outs, I chose to use circles because I like using circles in my work and I feel it could’ve created a nice aesthetic. The first two images are of a collage made up of circle cut outs from images of interesting light sources from the markets of Marrakech (printed off from before I swapped to the Art and The Conscious Mind field module), bits of packaging, bar codes, plastic bag and old exposed camera film. The idea was to create a piece that incorporated consumer products and the use of camera film and images from Marrakech was purely to add some more interesting and attractive imagery.

20140426-183411.jpg20140426-183433.jpg

These last three images are of collages of circle cut outs from seven of my photoshopped images. I want to add paint to this piece like on the collage in the previous images, but I can’t yet decide how to go about that without ruining the detail within the images.

 

20140426-183452.jpg20140426-183500.jpg

 

20140426-183442.jpg

Leave a Reply

