Movement within symmetry

Russian artist Mikhail Sadovnikov improvises with this pottery wheel to produce an anomalous, wondering display of perfect, circular symmetry. I love this clever technique which is filmed perfectly to present what the artist is doing. I really think I should have a go at attempting this technique in the ceramic studio because it relates to and reminds me of the changing movement work that William Kentridge does, who is a really relatable and relevant artist for me at the moment because of his use of charcoal and because he displays change in a way I haven’t yet managed to. I would like to demonstrate the change in consciousness in a similar way to him so I have some visual thoughts about how I can work with Mikhail Sadovnikov’s technique, with Kentridge’s principle in mind.

Leave a Reply

