Symmetry

I originally watched this ted talk because I have noticed that for as long as I can remember, I have always subconsciously drawn (‘doodled’) in a really symmetrical way. For example, I have a tendancy to draw mandala patterns which are spiritual symbols in Hinduism and Buddhism to represent the universe, although that is irrelevent to why I draw them. I think I like drawing them because they are correct within themselves: the symmetry shows them to have some sort of perfection and legitimacy that I enjoy aesthetically. However, after watching this talk and although learning a few things about the mathematics of symmetry, I picked up on a particular quote that in my mind, related this personal practise to my subject module:
‘In everything…uniformity is undesireable. Leaving something incomplete makes it interesting, and gives one a feeling there is room for growth… Even when building the imperial palace, they always leave one place unfinished.’ – Japanese Essays in Idleness, 14th century.
This quote reminds me of looking at the work of William Kentridge, and the progression he creates from movement and a mark making technique, because this creates a notion of incompetion, which resonated with me in terms of the evolution of humanity and the society I have been tyring to create artwork about.
I definitely want to expand on this because I feel it could alter the last few stages of this module.

Leave a Reply

