Response to Maria Lassnig’s painting

These paintings are my first attempt at recreating the mental technique that Lassnig uses to produce her self-portraits. I closed my eyes for a long time and tried to think of the way I perceive myself in order to articulate it. Its a really hard process because of external factors, but I can grasp the feeling of being zoned into my body schema, I just need to do this in an environment which will allow me to do this properly – with minimal distraction and a focused mind.
The way the outside world wouldn’t allow me to focus on something so deep into my mind was quite interesting to me. The world is so full of distractions, but these distractions only occur when my mind wandered onto these distractions and brought them to consciousness. So to me, they do not exist until my consciousness allows them to.

20140224-131413.jpg

20140224-131357.jpg

Leave a Reply

